New Project: After the Bankruptcy of the Supporting Male Lead

Hello fellow otakus,

I’m here to announce my newest project, ABSML (see full title above). It’s a SUPER hilarious story and one I felt would be unfair not to share with you guys since certain chapters would have me in literal tears laughing. The synopsis can be found on the TOC page.

As always, some minor housekeeping to get out of the way before I can jump into the actual translation so…read on!

When will this project be released?

This project does not launch until mid-late June! The actual date is variable, just depends on when I can free up time to advance the translations enough to really jump in.

Why am I releasing chapters weeks in advance?

Simply put…my experience with CCGGD scarred me lol. In slightly more seriousness, I just wanted to reserve this project in advance. I’d hate to translate 12+ chapters and post only to realize someone already did. But I’ve checked NU and no one seems to have picked up this project yet so I’m reserving it under my name now.

Is this similar to any of the previous projects- IHHA, CCGGD, etc.?

Yes and no. It’s similar to IHHA in that it’s hilarious and with both previous projects in that I’m translating it, but that’s pretty much where all similarities end. The format for this novel is going to be very different from the previous 2.

What exactly are these differences?
  • Weekly releases. Since this story isn’t episodic like IHHA or short like CCGGD, I’ll be releasing 1-2 chapters per week (days TBD but probably won’t BD).
  • Editing/formatting: I’m trying something totally new with this novel by keeping my editing to a bare minimum. You may not have noticed, but I (and my lovely editor Hali) edit the shit out of my projects because I’m somewhat anal about proper grammar I just think it helps readability and keeps the story coherent for you guys. Otherwise, if you wanted to struggle, you’d just read the raws, right?

This project, however, will be edited purely for grammatical/translation mistakes that directly impact comprehensibility. So that means verb tenses will be all over the place, some lines may not be as straightforward, etc. Naturally, I will do everything to make sure it’s still understandable. I just found that the organic/rough nature of the author’s writing is a necessary component of the humor; any more than the slightest editing detracts from the quality of the story as a whole. If this annoys you, let me know. I probably won’t change my mind but it’s good to get feedback.

  • Hovering has been disabled. I repeat, HOVERING HAS BEEN DISABLED! You used to be able to hover over my superscripts to see what the footnotes say. This novel requires too many footnotes and the automated process I programmed doesn’t translate well to the hover function. Long story short, now you’ll have to click on the superscripts themselves and they’ll take you right to that footnote, then click on the end of that footnote to go right back to where you were in the text.

 

Wait, but what about ko-fi?

Glad you asked! In my effort to motivate myself and the original authors, I’m keeping the ko-fi system alive for this project, but with some slight changes. Unlike IHHA, one ko-fi donation for this novel gets you an extra chapter for that week  -either posted right away or added to the next scheduled post.

There’s a possibility of capping the number of chapters per week if I’m getting more donations than I can keep up with, but that doesn’t look like it will be an issue any time soon. And, as usual, half of each donation gets paid directly to the author- first used to purchase all chapters of the novel on the author’s page and then for gifts (support the original authors’ guys!), and the other half I use to search out new novels on jjwxc that might be worth bringing to the site.

Anything else?

Nope, not for now! But I’ll let you know if things pop up!

Now that that’s out of the way, onward to Chapter 1!

8 thoughts on “New Project: After the Bankruptcy of the Supporting Male Lead”

  1. “I’d hate to translate 12+ chapters and post only to realize someone already did. But I’ve checked NU and no one seems to have picked up this project yet so I’m reserving it under my name now.”

    As a person who wants to start translating as soon as my exams are over, and who has already translated a few chapters, I’d love to know how one reserves a project under their own name to ensure the project doesn’t get taken by someone else.

    I have no experience with NU on the translator side of things and I’m trying to translate 20 chapters so I have a large stock before I start posting chapters weekly, and I am a bit nervous at the idea that the project might get taken by someone else before I’m done.

    If you have any advice and information, I’d love to hear it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just post a couple of chapters so that it appears in NU that somebody has already started translating, even one chapter gets the message out as long as you don’t take idk half a year(?) to start posting more. To be honest I haven’t seen any sniping in webnovels, unlike webcomics.

      Like

    2. Haha it’s not officially reserving or anything, but once you post a few chapters and get them on NU, it’s kind of a faux pas for someone else to take it over and start translating. Similar to me and CCGGD, the newer person usually stops unless they’re a total D-bag.

      For your sake, just posting the first chapter or two once you’re done translating them (like I’ve done here) is fine. But be aware there’s an implicit 90 day rule for active projects. This means that, once a project hasn’t seen any new activity for ~90 days, it’s fair game for any new translators. I’d err on the side of caution and try not to wait any longer than 1-2 months, tbh. It’s also possible to start releasing at a much slower rate while you build a stock, and then switch to your preferred rate.

      But I’m not exactly a seasoned translator so, take all of this with a grain of salt lol.

      Like

        1. Yup! But keep in mind people don’t usually stick to the full 90 days if it’s a project they’ve been eyeing or if the timeline/releases strongly suggest you’ve dropped the project.

          For example: I picked up IHHA after 9-10 weeks of no posting from the first translator. I didn’t feel the need to wait a few more weeks because 1. I wanted to post before I went back to work and 2. She was posting chapter by chapter and was still a few chapters away from completing the first arc (which basically means you’ve dropped it if you’re translating a quick wear/episodic series)

          Like

  2. Wishing you all the best with this novel. I was excited to read it but did not realize it was yaoi. Even though I was super inrigued bcs you mentioned how funny it was, I am not as into yaoi as much as Transmigration novels. Good luck with this!

    Like

    1. Aw I’m sorry to hear that as it’s such a good story! And very unromantic- I didn’t even realize it was yaoi until ~50 chapters in lol. But everyone has their preferences so hope you find another good transmigration that suits you. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a comment